October 02, 2014

Inter Batch Old Boys Cricket Carnival 2014


The Most anticipated Inter Batch Old Boys Cricket Carnival for 2014 was kicked off on 28th September 2014 at St. Peter’s College, Gampaha Branch College Grounds at 10 am. Rev. Fr. Lakmin Silva , Director of St. Peter’s College , Gampaha Branch graced the occasion as Chief Guest. Opening Ceremony started by hosting National Flag by Rev. Fr. Lakmin & College Flag by Malinda Perera – President of the OBU Batch Group of Gampaha, & Chief Organizer of the Event Mr. Charith Perera hosting popes flag followed by  singing College Anthem then a Small prayer thanking God for all his blessings . Rev. Fr. Lakmin addressing the crowd thanked everyone for coming to this event sacrificing their Holiday. He further highlighted why everyone should be proud of being a Peterite. Most importantly he mentioned not to worry about the quantity of the event and try to maximize the Quality of the Event. Finally he thanked Batch Group Committee for setting up a wonderful event.

Thirteen Teams took the field for the Rev. Fr. Joe E. Wickramasinghe challenge Trophy. Starting the Tournament first match was played between 2005 batch and 2012 batch. During the day we were able to witness some breathtaking matches which went till last ball finishes. The excitement of the Crowd was doubled by DJ Nadeesh with his electrifying vibes. After battling each other during the preliminary stage 2008, 2013,2009,2001,2014,2010,2004,2005 batches entered in to the quarter final stage. As in the preliminary round stage the enthusiasm among players for the big “W” was also shown in Quarter Final round. During the quarter final stage we saw ball sailing over the ropes many a times which highlighted the power hitting of the boys. Bowlers went hopeless as where ever they pitch the ball ended being either 6 or 4.  While Papare sound dominating the proceedings 2013, 2009, 2010 and 2004 batches advanced themselves to Semi Finals.

1st Semi Final played between 2009 batch and 2010 batch. However before the play begin we were able to witness Peterites opening up the dance floor  while baila tunes played in the back yard which continued till end of Final match. As expected 1st semi final dragged till last ball finish. Batting first 2009 batch team scored 38 runs in their 5 overs. Donald Balasooriya topped the scoring sheet by scoring 24 runs in 10 balls. 2010 batch started the run chase losing 2 early wickets in their first over for 0 runs. They kept loosing wickets in regular Intervals even though they have a small target to get. They were able to hit the winning run in the last ball of the Final Over after losing 8 wickets.

2nd Semi Final played between 2004 batch (Last Year Runner up) and 2013 batch team. Winning the toss 2013 team batted first and lost their opening wicket in the first ball of the innings. 2004 batch tightened their balling over by over and was able to restrict young Peterite Brigade of 2013 to 26 runs in their full quota of overs. Starting the run chase 2004 batch openers had other things in their mind. They started the innings their usual blistering way. They needed only 2 overs to achieve their target of 27 runs. 

The Grand Finale played between 2004 batch & 2010 batch. After winning the toss 2004 batch invited 2010 batch to bat first they scored 68 runs in their 5 overs. Throughout the 5 overs they have shown great hunger to get maximum runs while 2004 batch bowlers were not performing up to the expected levels. Having 69 as the winning target in their mind 2004 batch started their innings usual blistering manner by scoring 18 runs in first over. But in 2nd and 3rd over saw a fight back from 2010 batch sending one by one to the dressing room of 2004 batch. 2004 batch needed 15 runs in their last over to get their hand on champions’ trophy. However like last time they were the 2nd best as 2010 team hold their nerves till last over and out classed 2004 batch to become the Worth WINNERS of 2014 Cricket Carnival.

Thilina Priyashan from 2010 batch judged as the Best Bowler while Ayesh Nadun from 2010 batch selected as the Best Batsman of the Tournament. Sameera Perera of 2004 batch awarded Man of the Series award for his all round performances. 

2004 batch emerged as the Runners Up & awarded Rev. Fr. Siri Cooray challenge Trophy. While 2010 Batch Team crowned as the CHAMPIONS of the cricket carnival and had their hands on Rev. Fr. Joe E. Wickramasinghe .

On behalf of the Organizing Committee we would like to the DJ Nadeesh for the Cool Tunes / Rohan Francis of Ray Creations for being Official Photographer of the event.

Cheers !!
Malinda Perera 



St. Peter’s College – Colombo 04 , Old Boys' Union - Batch Group of Gampaha . Copyright 2009 All Rights Reserved